Well, nobody’s perfect.

I realize I’ve been posting mainly beauty posts, which is fine, but I want this blog to be about hopefully what will be a transformative process in not so much as letting go of the material world, but  learning how to not being dependent on it.  I want to be able to see my clothes in a new light and learn ways to repurpose them.

That being said, I honestly don’t know where to begin.  I don’t buy clothing excessively, but I buy often enough and sometimes I’m more motivated by a sale than the actual need for a new shirt or a pair of jeans.  This is a problem.  I don’t have the money to spend on clothes that I don’t absolutely love (i.e. I’m too poor to waste money!).  I love fashion and I truly believe it is one of the best ways for people to express themselves.

I often find myself lusting for a gorgeous dress or a simple well-made top, but then I always convince myself that these pieces are too expensive.  Instead, I buy cute tops from Forever21 or H&M that are destroyed after a few washes.  If I had saved the money I had spent on those shirts, I may have been able to afford the well-made top that could have lasted years!

I won’t buy any clothes from Jan. 1, 2013 – Dec. 31, 2013 (Well, as best I can!) and hopefully by the end of the year, I will really be able to make a reflective decision on which pieces I would truly like to invest in and add to my wardrobe.

What would you buy after a year without making any fashion purchases?

-Material Detox

3 thoughts on “Well, nobody’s perfect.”

  1. Have you read ‘Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion’? The book touches on your point.

    Good luck on your challenge! I just had to follow your blog once I saw the premise and have enjoyed everything you’ve written so far.

    PS: Christian Louboutins. After all, I saved a ton of money, right?

    1. I have never heard of this book before, but it sounds interesting! I will definitely add it to my reading list! And thank you and I am extremely jealous of your Christian Louboutins! I think they are worth the investment like a Chanel purse!

Leave a Reply

