A Week Without Credit Cards: Day 5&6, 2 Down, 8 to Go.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Not spending money on Thanksgiving was easy.  Not spending money on Black Friday was another matter.  I knew I did not need to buy anything, but with all the special sales from almost every store, I was so tempted to buy everything!  However, I was able to resist for a few reasons:

  1. My family doesn’t go shopping on Black Friday
  2. Looking at the black friday “deals” online and realizing I wouldn’t buy any of those items if they weren’t on sale (Ok, well maybe the 32 inch TV)
  3. Playing Nintendo Land and Super Mario on my brother’s new Wii U (So Addicting!)
  4. “Shopping” around the house for things that I left behind

I found quite a few items that I left at home that I could use in the next year.  First, I found a box of hair dye and since I haven’t found the time to dye my hair since school has started, I dyed my hair a dark red shade.  Next, I found an unopened box of Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream in No. 23.  This is perfect for an everyday foundation/bb cream/tinted moisturizer after I finish the Dr. Jart+ bb cream (a review is coming very soon!).  I was very happy to see these beauty treasures at home!

Image
Another bb cream contender

In other great news, I finished the Revlon Lip Butter in Sugar Plum.  I still have two backups of these (my favorite shade) and many other shades of Revlon Lip Butter that I will  get to experiment with for the following year. These lip butters are my favorite lip product.  They leave my usually chapped lips incredibly soft and smooth.  Most of the shades are also super pigmented with a glossy finish.  I really should add this product to my “holy grail” list as its getting difficult to imagine my lips without them!

Image
Leaves my lips pretty and soft!

So, with that I was able not to spend money on Thanksgiving or Black Friday.  I am very pleased, but I’m a bit worried that I won’t have enough to last for tomorrow as after the plane, I have to take a train then a bus to get back to school.  In any case, it shouldn’t go over budget by more than a couple dollars…I hope.

Did you go Black Friday shopping, and if so, what deals did you find?

-Material Detox

7 thoughts on “A Week Without Credit Cards: Day 5&6, 2 Down, 8 to Go.”

  1. I applaud ye! Haha I have been trying to curb my spending, too, and I’ve been marginally successful, but it’s hard and I cave sometimes. Kudos to you! 🙂

    P.S. Sugar Plum is my favorite, too. 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’m still starting out and I know I’ll probably cave once or twice (we’re all human). Do you have any tips that have helped with your success? ^__^ I would greatly appreciate any advice!

      1. Well, my girlfriend made me go on a makeup ban, so that helped out a lot. I crosscheck my purchases with her and we evaluate. 🙂 I think what you’re doing—not buying over the Internet—really helps a great deal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

