A Week Without Credit Cards: Day 7, Back to School

Yesterday was the last day in my “Week Without Credit Cards” challenge.  If you have been following along, you know that I failed because I booked last minute flights back home for Thanksgiving.  However, aside from the plane tickets, I did not use my credit/debit cards.  I started off with roughly $50, with most of it going towards groceries and public transportation (to and from the airport).  I was also reimbursed $7 for a school funded field trip, however, I still had to borrow a few dollars to cover my fare back from the airport.

This challenge was a lot more difficult than I had originally anticipated.  Aside from it ending in total failure, I think it was pretty successful (well, you know what I mean).  However, I think it was worth it as it gave me new insights to my personal spending habits.  When I was working on a budget and knowing that I only could spend the cash I had on hand, I was much more careful and choosy in what I bought.  It became easier to see what items I need and which items were superflous (lippies!).

Image
It may seem like only a little bit at first…but it adds up pretty quick!

If you’re anything like me, you would understand that somehow every time I shop at Target/CVS/Walgreens, I come out with a cosmetic product.  I have so many drugstore lip products and I know I don’t need any more, yet I still buy more.  Yes, this addiction has ended ever since I started project 10 pan (which eventually led to this blog), but sometimes I still find myself perusing the makeup aisles.  Those weekly “small thrills” add up pretty quickly and I estimate that I’ll save at least $200 on cosmetics next year.

I think it would be healthy to do this challenge on a monthly/bi-monthly basis.  I may implement this into my routine as I think it will help me save money in the long run.  I came up with a few rules if I (or you!!!) decide to take on this challenge, again.

  1. The budget is $50 per person (say if you’re the one responsible for groceries for a family of 4, thats $50×4 = $200)
  2. You can’t purchase items online!
  3. Rent or bills do not count (and other routine expenses)
Image
The more you save, the less you need

Would you ever take this challenge?

-Material Detox

3 thoughts on “A Week Without Credit Cards: Day 7, Back to School”

Leave a Reply

