I Need A Doctor: Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox Review

So, I have been using Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB beauty balm for a couple of weeks now and I must say that I’m pretty impressed.  First off, let me just say that I have dry skin with a bit of acne (the joys of being 18) and this works perfectly to cover my blemishes without being cakey.  Although the coverage isn’t as great as my MUFE HD foundation, its still pretty incredible for something that feels light.  It has a pretty watery consistency, but it spreads out evenly.  Also, I’m not a big fan of the scent, it smells like a mild herbal scent and just a bit like rubber.  The worst part is that there is only one shade and although it fades out to my skin tone, I’m not so sure if this will work for all skin-tones. Also, its pretty pricy.  Its $36 at Sephora for 1.5 oz. of product.  Here is a before and after:

Photo on 11-17-12 at 10.30 AM
before (yes, that is a HUGE zit on my nose)
Photo on 11-17-12 at 10.42 AM
ta-dah!! (still visible, but a great improvement)

I live in the bay area now and I choose to believe that the fog has been doing wonders for my dry skin.  When I used to live in L.A. I would often get red patchy rashes on my skin that would last for weeks!  In fact, they didn’t really go away til I moved to the bay.  However, that being said, I have gotten more acne since I started college.  This could be due to many things such as hormones and most likely stress.

Dr. Jart’s Black Label claims to cover “blemishes and uneven skin tone” and acts to “purify and calm blemish-prone and irritated skin.”  I’m not so sure if it has actually helped clear up my acne, but it has definitely evened out my skin tone.  It leaves my skin looking and feeling dewy and radiant.  In short, this is a perfect everyday bb cream for those with dry, sensitive skin with minor acne. Dr.-Jart-Black-Label-Detox-BB-Beauty-Balm-Dr.-Jart-Renewalist-BB-Beauty-Balm-1

Pros:

  • Great for dry skin with slight acne
  • SPF 25
  • Feels light and leaves your skin feeling and looking dewy, radiant, and natural

Cons:

  • Only one shade
  • Smells like herbs
  • EXPENSIVE!! ($36 @Sephora)

Overall, I would recommend this if your skin is similar to mine and within your budget.  The price itself may keep me from repurchasing.

My finals are on Monday and Tuesday but I decided to take a little study break and blog (tsk tsk).  What is your everyday foundation/bb cream/tinted moisturizer and why does it work for you?

-Material Detox

5 thoughts on “I Need A Doctor: Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox Review”

Leave a Reply

