Goodbye Material World! (Day 1)

It’s a new year and hopefully the start of a new me! I can honestly say that I’m 100% SCARED OUT OF MY MIND! I think I have a pretty bad addiction to shopping and I’m not pointing any fingers, but I kinda blame the prevalence of blatant consumerism in society. That being said, I think I’ll be going through some tough withdrawal process (I’ll talk more about this later) and I’m not sure I’ll be able to make it out (just kidding, but, really). I also want to recount the feelings I’ve had building up over the last couple weeks.

Over the holiday break, I’ve been frequenting the mall just a little too much and I’m not sure whether it’s because it was Christmas time or because I was trying desperately to enjoy the last few drops of my very large, delicious drink of indulging in new clothes and makeup. So, I have a couple confessions of what I have bought. First, I bought some Forever 21 clothes that I have previously blogged about. My boyfriend then treated me to some Chanel makeup for Christmas and also bought me a little more clothing (yes, I really do believe I have the best boyfriend ^_^). I also bought some Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator from Sephora for my very dry winter skin. Then I bought a cold-weather athletic jacket from Marshalls and the Alice + Olivia Luggage from Target.

Tx9DIx-dC9Xl alice_olivia_luggage_2 imgres

The luggage was exactly what I was looking for. You see, I’ve been looking to buy a carryon for a while now and although I have found many that were decent and functional, their style just never appealed to me. So when I saw this beauty in Target, I knew I had to have it…until I saw the price: $179.99. I just couldn’t justify paying that much for an item no matter how cute it is. So the search went on…or so I thought until a couple days before Christmas while looking in the toys section for a gift for my boyfriend’s brother, I saw the luggage marked 50% off! Now for $89.99, it certainly wasn’t a steal as far as carryons go but it was just on the outskirts of my budget and so I inspected the remaining stock and bought it. Unless, it breaks quickly, I don’t think I’ll regret this purchase as I’m absolutely in love with the bag! It’s black and white with neon accents and maybe a bit much for some, I cannot get enough of it! It’s actually quite spacious inside (I was able to fit 3 sweaters, 7 shirts, 3 pairs of pants, a skirt, a pair of shorts, a couple pairs of thick tights, a purse, and a pair of heels) and has two convenient pockets on the outside and two more pockets on the inside for various items like makeup and what not. It also comes with 4 adorable nylon (I think) pouches. Although, you may not be able to tell from the picture, the neon “laundry” bag is as long as the luggage itself. The red “shoes” bag is adorable and the “other” and “glasses” pouches are both padded. It also comes with a matching neon TSA lock! LIttle details like the extra pouches and lock just make me swoon.

UPDATE: The price was lowered to $53.99 so I went to Target to get a price adjustment but since they don’t allow price adjustments for clearance items I wanted to return it and buy it back however the lady at the return counter said they don’t allow that and I have to go find a different one in the store if I wanted to buy it at the lower price (and added that I probably wouldn’t be able to in a snarky voice). I was pretty frustrated because she just tried to push me aside thinking I wouldn’t want to return it now. I was more upset by her attitude than the policy so I just returned it. I’m still pretty shocked by my experience as Target is usually quite lenient with returns. Oh well, the search is on for a carryon!

Anyway, going back to my topic about not being able to shop for the next 364 days. As you can see I am quite passionate about material objects (very shallow, I know, I know) but I can’t help that these little luxuries make life that much more doable. In fact, the reason I’m doing this project is to save up for some of the more luxurious items that I can’t afford (ahem* LV Neverfull and Speedy 30) or justify without some serious budgeting. Still, I think I’ll be going through a bit of a crazy, emotional, withdrawal over the next couple of weeks or months.

Here’s a list of “Emotional Withdrawal Symptoms”

  • Anxiety
  • Restlessness
  • Irritability
  • Insomnia
  • Headaches
  • Poor concentration
  • Depression
  • Social isolation

I’m definitely already feeling anxious and restless and I’m already an insomniac so I guess that doesn’t help. Well, thank you for reading my first post of the new year and of hopefully a successful project!

Here are a few posts that should be up in the up-coming days:

  • Chanel Makeup Haul
  • What Makeup Items I Carry With Me
  • Packing for (Another) Trip to Boston

<;3.

Material Detox

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Material World! (Day 1)”

Leave a Reply

