Tidy House, Tidy Mind (Day 4)

Dear babes,

I am a bit behind schedule right now so I apologize.  My room right now is an absolute mess and I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather.  Right now I’m in the process of trying to clean up and organize all my things.  I have been planning a couple of posts but I just can’t concentrate my thoughts when my surroundings are such a mess.  Hopefully, the old adage “tidy house, tidy mind” is true and by tonight I’ll have two posts.

UPDATE: Well, I have uploaded my post for January 3rd and changed the date accordingly so my blog would stay in chronological order.  I have decided to just turn this post into my 4th day post as I think it makes a pretty good topic.  If you’re anything like me, you’d understand how quickly a house/room/really any area can turn into a mess so quickly.  I honestly don’t know how it happens but it does and rather quickly no matter how many times I clean up.  I seriously suspect a little mischievous ghoul of some sort that likes to hide our stuff especially when we are in a rush so we have no choice but to look for it and thus create a mess (and leave it messy).  To be honest though, I can’t help but notice that it is all these material items that create such havoc.  I have clothes laying about everywhere, jewelry on every surface, and other various knick knacks strewn about my room.

The worst part of all of this is that it really does have an impact on the human mind, or at least mine.  It’s just so uncomfortable to try to be productive when there are so many distractions.  Aside from noises, the appearance of the room matters, also.  When there’s clutter about, it feels like there’s clutter in my mind and it makes it that more difficult to concentrate on ideas.

I think by minimizing clutter, my life and the state of my mind will greatly improve.  Thoughts like this help me affirm my decision to not buy any clothing or makeup this year (they add much more to the clutter!).  Now, I’m not saying I don’t love material items, but I think I could learn a lesson or two by really thinking and investing in pieces and cosmetics that will allow me to minimize clutter, and maximize utility and happiness.

Here’s a great demonstration of a before/after clean up from Toastie Studio Blog over at http://toastiestudio.blogspot.com/2012/10/clean-up-october-overhaul.html:

craftmess_3
http://toastiestudio.blogspot.com/2012/10/clean-up-october-overhaul.html

Just looking at the transformation calms me down!

Do you believe that a tidy house leads to a tidy mind?

xoxo,

Material Detox

3 thoughts on “Tidy House, Tidy Mind (Day 4)”

Leave a Reply

