Material Diet

I feel as though my “no spending for a year” is pretty similar to a diet- instead of food, it’s makeup and clothes!  Now, this is pretty tough, I have definitely cut my spending by a lot (more than half) since I started and my perspective has slowly changed as well.

I used to watch youtube “my makeup collection” videos and I used to be extremely jealous of all the makeup other people had.  Now, I’m not really jealous at all.  Sometimes too much is simply too much.  After seeing someone, I won’t name who, who had a whole cabinet devoted solely to lip products, I was really happy I didn’t have that much.  There were about 9 drawers full of lipstick, lipgloss, and lip treatments (and this was after she gave away 70% of her stuff).   Needless to say, maybe I am a bit jealous of her nicer items, but overall it just seemed a bit bizarre to have that many lip products.  I’m lucky if I get through 4-5 tubes a YEAR.  Compared to some, I have a reasonable amount, and by reasonable I mean ONE traincase of makeup, not completely filled up.  Still, that is too much to me because I hate throwing away makeup that I haven’t really used (that expired) because I was busy using all my other products.  By the end of this year my goal is to have 2-5 items of any “type” of product, i.e. foundation, powder, eyeshadow palettes, lip stick, lip gloss, or blush.

IMG_0727
Pretty much all my makeup (a few things are back in my bf’s apartment in Boston)

So I’ll be starting a “series” ( I don’t know what to call it) of what I do have, so yes, it is my own “makeup collection”.

However, on the clothes aspect of things, I really don’t have a lot, but still I don’t want to buy random stuff that I’ll only wear for a season just because I found it on sale (I want to find something on sale that is timeless :))  So I was thinking like a diet, maybe I can do one “cheat day” a month.  Obviously, I can’t just buy everything on that day (that would ruin the point of my project) but I can buy ONE item that cannot exceed in price over $50 that I can justify by using it for AT LEAST two years.  I feel by letting myself have one cheat item a month I will be less tempted to buy things and it can be a little “reward” for sticking to my plan.

What do you think?  Will this do more harm than good?

xoxo,

Material Detox

9 thoughts on “Material Diet”

  1. I’ve been on a diet too. Actually, I lost my “appetite” for spending so much just because I feel like I have too much as well. Also, I agree re: people’s makeup collections! I respect that you want to spend your money on makeup but whole closets for LIPSTICK is a bit too much. Anyway, good luck! 🙂

    1. Good luck to you too! Please do updates on how you’ve cut back and what not 🙂 I seriously think some people honestly have just too much. I know not one person who would be able to go through 100+ tubes of lip products within 2 years (if not a lifetime). 🙂 and a BIG thank you!!

      1. Well, I’m still waiting for a few shipments LOL. But I haven’t been buying much clothes-wise and makeup-wise after I flushed away my need for new things.

  2. When I was still a student, I had to go by much less products and I was doing ok, I still looked great in the weekends. When I started working I started purchasing stuff like a maniac but because I could finally afford the stuff I wanted. Now I am slowly loosing my craving for buying a lot of beauty products.

    1. Oh gosh..all my troubles started when I started working two years ago! I still mostly saved all my money for school, which I’m paying for by myself plus scholarships. Still because I had cash, I finally was able to buy new clothes and makeup and I went a bit overboard. Now I’m basically in the same position as you. ❤

Leave a Reply

