My Progress So Far

I’ve been on this “makeup ban” for almost 5 complete months now so I thought it was about time for a quick review and recap over what has happened/changed since I started this project on January 1st.

1. I failed miserably with the no clothing ban.

I’ve bought a trench, a purse, 2 dress shirts, 4 dresses, a cardigan, a skirt, and a pair of ballet flats.  Obviously, I had to put a stop to the ban right away because there was no way I could justify all of that.

2. I’ve done pretty well on the makeup front.  I’ve only bought products that I really had no alternative to- for example I used up all of my concealer and finally took the plunge and bought the bobbi brown corrector and concealer (okay, that’s two things) and I love it.

3. However, I was gifted makeup by my boyfriend so that made it loads easier for me.  To be fair though, it was a foundation and an eyelash curler (does that count as makeup?).

4. I’ve been able to buy cosmetic “non-makeup” items like the MAC cosmetics Studio Fix+ Spray and Brush Cleanser, nailpolish, and hair accessories.

Overall, I still think I’m doing a great job and I’ve definitely noticed that I’m not as makeup-obsessed as before.  I really have come to appreciate what I already have so much more and have found ways to use products in different ways.  I feel better off financially and I feel less guilty for doing other things like eating out, etc.

Anywho, I wanted to keep this short and simple.  Thanks so much for reading!

<3,

Material Detox

6 thoughts on “My Progress So Far”

  1. I went a weekend without makeup recently, and I realized how much it changed my perception of makeup, so I can definitely see how five months would have a bit of an impact! Are you just attempting not to buy new products until you run out?

    1. It’s seriously crazy how big of a role makeup plays in our lives until we try to take a step back! I’m planning on pretty much not buying makeup this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

